Jeppe High School for Boys

2nd XV and U15A are our rugby teams of the year

2nd XV and U15A are our rugby teams of the year

The annual Rugby Dinner was held at the school of Friday night.

The achievements of all the Jeppe rugby teams were celebrated and the event, and farewells were said to Ms Simone Schaffer, Mr Derek Archer and Mr Carl Spilhaus.

Mr Archer has taken on full time role at St David’s Marist Inanda, while Ms Schaffer is moving to the UK. Mr Spilhaus will be stepping down as head coach of the first team after six years in charge. He stays on in his role as Director of Rugby and will give input into the coaches and players of all the teams. He will be replaced as 1st team coach by Mr Drickus Venter.

Only two awards are made at the rugby dinner: Junior and Senior Teams of the year. A number of nominations were received and they were narrowed down to three finalist in each category.

The winners were:

Junior Team of the Year – U15A. Captain: Mahlatse Sekele; coaches Mr J Fourie and Mr W Hitchings. Finalists – U15A and U14C.

Senior Team of the Year – 2nd XV. Captain: Lethabo Kekana; coaches: Mr C Arnold, Mr P Mhlanga. Finalists: 1st XV and U16B.

Share :

More news